Life in Senegal: Updates Pt. 1

First off… Why am in Senegal?

My year post-grad had been decided by freshman year of high school when I met my French teacher who had served in the Peace Corps in Chad. I told my parents that day that I wanted to serve overseas. Throughout my four years in his class, he would share his experiences and how they shaped him. My desire to serve abroad stuck with me until the end of college so I set out last fall to seek out what options would be best. I found a great fit with Young Adults in Global Mission (YAGM). I realize some of you reading this already know all about YAGM, but for the rest of you… I wanted to give you a bit of background below so you can understand what this next year will be about for me and my 92 fellow YAGMs around the world.

What makes YAGM special?

To its core, the YAGM program operates on a model of accompaniment. Accompaniment is all about relationships. Our year’s goal is to build meaningful relationships around the world. These relationship break down boundaries, create a greater global community, and create a sense of compassion for all regardless of who you are, how you worship, or where you live. In opposition to the white savior complex, the program posited that people with privilege don’t, and absolutely shouldn’t, have a monopoly on serving others. Every single person has gifts to offer and every single person also has things to learn from others.

For more information, look to http://www.elca.org/Our-Work/Global-Church/Global-Mission/Young-Adults-in-Global-Mission or email me with any questions on what accompaniment will look for me in Senegal this year!

08c5bc51-798f-4b2e-833d-51f4fe94430c
The very first photo taken in Senegal! My fellow Senegal YAGMs (Grace, Hannah, Casey, Kristian, Mercedes, and Lily) and our country coordinator (Kristin) right outside the Dakar airport.

Before arriving in Dakar, Senegal!

The week before arriving in Dakar was spent in Chicago for an orientation for all 93 YAGM participants serving all around the world this year. We discussed important topics regarding our upcoming year and in many cases these topics also related to the state of the United States today. It was a wonderful week to take time to process and reflect. Plus, my extroverted-self flourished with lots of bonding time and engaging conversations with seemingly endless amounts of awesome people!

So far in Dakar…

My first three weeks in Senegal are dedicated to an in-coutry orientation with my fellow Senegal YAGM and our country coordination Kristin. We have been very busy with language classes, meeting tons of people, and cultural lessons all day. I have really enjoyed it all so far! It is also special to share this experience with people that are becoming my close friends. We are all throwing ourselves in the culture and getting ready for in a few weeks when we’ll be on our own! There is so much happening everyday… this newsletter would have to be 20 pages long to fit it all in so be sure to tune into my blog and Instagram to see the highlights!

Language Corner
A week into learning Wolof , I thought it would be fun to share a common introduction to you all! My classes are taught almost entirely in French so it has definitely been a challenge… but I love already being able to practice with people in my neighborhood. This greeting is important and said to everyone when entering or arriving at a place or when approaching an already established group. It is also very important to shake everyone’s hands!
Asalaa maalekum
Alekum salaam
(Arabic: Peace to you, and to you peace.)
Na nga def?
(How are you?)
Maa ngi fi rekk.
(I am fine. Literally: I am here.)
Ana waa ker ga?
(How is the family?)
Nu nga fa.
(They are fine. Direct translation: They are there.)
Alhamdulilay.
(Arabic: Thanks be to God. )
79255a2c-2378-4a68-ab10-c655176b284d
Feel free to follow me on Instagram at berkley.hope or email me any questions at berkleyhope@gmail.com! I also have a blog at https://berkleyhope.wordpress.com that has not yet been used but I plan to use for pictures and reflections of my experience!

Leave a comment